

Bert Easey Technical Award

As 'the Society's award' it was first presented in 1951 and was renamed in 1976 in honour of Bert Easey, who was head of the Camera Department at Denham and Pinewood Studios and integral to the formation of the Society. This award is in the gift of the Board and only given to an individual or company who has contributed something outstanding in the way of endeavour or equipment.

2025	TRUE LENS SERVICES (TLS) Specialists in rehousing classic and modern lenses for Film & Television
2024	CHEMICAL WEDDING – Founders Nic Sadler : Toby Evetts : Simon Reeves for the development of Artemis Digital Directors Viewfinder System
2023	SHOTDECK founder Lawrence Sher ASC for creating a unique cinematography image library
2022	ASTERA LED TECHNOLOGY for innovation in lighting
2021	DEDO WEIGERT for innovative concepts in furthering the Art of Cinematography
2020	ARRI SKYPANEL Family
2019	FRIEDER HOCHHEIM KINO FLO Lighting System
2017	MARC WOLFF Advancement of Aerial Cinematography
2014	THALES ANGENIEUX for the development and production of high resolution zoom lenses
2013	RED to Jim Jannard of Red Digital Cinema Camera Co. For pioneering the use of innovative and accessible digital cinema cameras for motion picture and independent film makers.
2012	COOKE OPTICS to Les Zelan and the Cooke Optics team for the development of the Cooke family of Cine Lenses

2011	ARRI for their development of the Alexa Studio
2009	KOMMER KLEIJN SBC for his achievement in implementing the 60 frame rate proposal as an addition to the International Standard for digital projection.
2008	STAN MILLER (ROSCO) for his contribution to lighting technology.
2007	BILL LOVELL (ARRI) / PETER SWARBRICK (PANAVISION) for their input to the advancement and promotion of digital cinematography
2006	GEOFF BOYLE for his contributions to international dialogue amongst cinematographers via the Cinematography Mailing List.
2005	LYNN NICHOLSON & HOWARD SMITH for the Advancement of Steadicam with the Alien Revolution
2004	CLIVE NOAKES for his work in film and digital intermediate technologies
2003	FRITZ-GABRIEL BAUER for his perceptive design of motion picture cameras
2002	NICK PHILLIPS for the invention and development of the Libra 3, the first multi axis electronically stabilised remote camera head.
2001	HARRY BAKER for the continuous development of fluid heads for the film and television industry.
2000	CHARLES B. STAFFELL for his contributions and innovations in the field of visual effects.
1999	LAURIE FROST for the development of remote control heads.
1998	KARL KELLY for his outstanding contribution to the advancement of camera engineering.
1997	JEAN PIERRE BEAUVIALA for his contribution to the advancement of cinema camera technology
1996	ROY MOORES BSC for this contribution to process and camera work
1995	DAVID SAMUELSON BSC for his contribution as an author, inventor and innovator to the world of motion picture equipment.

1994	ARNOLD AND RICHTER In recognition of 75 years of continuous development of their Arriflex Camera Systems
1992	JOE DUNTON BSC for the development of the J.D. & C. anamorphic lens system
1990	LES OSTINELLI BSC for his outstanding contribution to the development of the Motion Picture Image
1988	RANK TAYLOR HOBSON for the design, development and manufacture of motion picture lenses (BETA)
1985	BILL CHITTY for his design of innovative lighting equipment over many years.
1983	LEE ELECTRIC LIGHTING LTD for the pioneering of strobe free lighting.
1980	LEE FILTERS LTD for the development of motion picture filters and control mediums
1978	DENYS COOP BSC for this achievement in the creation of photographic techniques which enabled 'Superman' to fly
1976	GARRET BROWN for the Steadicam camera
1970	THE EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY for the development and manufacture of the new colour reversal internegative material which is a great step forward in the production of all release prints from duplicates.
1969	R.E. GOTTSCHALK for his outstanding Panavision Lenses and for the Panavision Silent Reflex Camera, the most significant advance in camera design for 30 years.
1968	WALLY VEEVERS BSC for outstanding achievements in the field of special effects on many films – particularly '2001 : A Space Odyssey'
1967	THE HOUSE OF SAMUELSON for their contribution to the Film Industry with particular reference to S. Samuelson BSC for his outstanding service.
1958	TECHNICOLOR LTD for the advancement in motion picture photography by the introduction of

Technirama

1955 THE EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY

for the advancement in motion picture photography by the introduction of Eastman colour stock

1951 GEORGE ASHWORTH

Chief Engineer, Denham and Pinewood Studios for outstanding work in designing and perfecting a beam splitter camera which advanced the technique of the travelling matte process