January 18, 2024

Stuart Harris BSC Awarded Honorary Full Membership


We are delighted to announce that in our 75th year the Board of Governors has voted to bestow Honorary Full Membership on Stuart Harris.

This is only the third time in our history the Board have voted to bestow Honorary Full Membership on an individual; the previous two-times being Oscar-winner Joseph Ruttenberg ASC and William A. Fraker ASC.

Stuart Harris BSC represents the very highest aims of our society. His career, body of work and commitment to education have helped enrich our craft. Stuart began his career at Elstree studies working us way up through the camera department and on the way working on films including 2001: A Space Odyssey (DoP: Geoffrey Unsworth BSC), The Boyfriend (DoP: David Watkin BSC) and Three Into Two Won’t Go (DoP: Walter Lassally BSC).

Stuart moved to lighting and began working in the burgeoning Commercials field where he became one of the most sought-after Cinematographers in the world. Over his career in Commercials he worked on estimated 4,500 Commercials often with some of the biggest stars in the world and in some of the most distant locations from Russia to the United States, Dubai to Nigeria and Japan. His work earned him the respect of his colleagues as well as plaudits including the D&AD Award. He also gave opportunities to new people to enter his camera team including future society members Angus Hudson BSC and Dan Mindel ASC BSC SASC.

Stuart’s debut Feature Film, Wetherby, directed by Sir David Hare won the prestigious Golden Bear at the Berlin Film Festival and he work with the legendary Storm Thorgerson on “High Hopes” for Pink Floyd has had over 100m views on YouTube and is one of the most referenced Music Videos of the period.

Stuart remains very much an active Cinematographer and as well as his incredible 50-year career in our industry he has devoted a great deal of the later part of his career to education. He currently serves as Co-Head of Cinematography and Head of Directing Commercials at the National Film and Television School. Over his time there he has helped shape the direction of Cinematographers including Ula Pontikos BSC, Stuart Bentley BSC, Edu Grau ASC AEC, Benjamin Kracun BSC, Chloë Thomson BSC, Felix Wiedemann BSC, Maja Zamojda BSC, Annika Summerson BSC, John Lee BSC and many many more.

It goes without saying that the British Society of Cinematographers (BSC) welcomes this incredible Cinematographer to our fold with a thank you, for his career, his kindness to others and his generosity.

Stuart Harris BSC will be presented with his membership certificate as part of 68th Awards in London on the 3rd February.