BSC Members Roster – Past Full Accredited

Arthur Ibbetson BSC

Category: Past Full Accredited

Role: Cinematographer

Website: IMDb

8.9.1922 – 19.10.1997

Photo Caption:   Arthur Ibbetson BSC on location on 'Master of the Game' (1984)


Starting as a clapper boy in the 1930s and then camera assistant, Arthur graduated to operator on film such as The Blue Lagoon (1949) directed by Frank Launder and photographed by Geoffrey Unsworth BSC; The Beggar’s Opera (1953) directed by Peter Brook and photographed by Guy Green BSC; The Man Who Never Was (1956) directed by Ronald Neame and photographed by Ossie Morris OBE BSC; Moby Dick (1956) directed by John Huston and photographed by Ossie Morris OBE BSC;  A Farewell To Arms (1957) directed by Charles Vidor and photographed by Ossie Morris OBE BSC.

His first major credit as Director photography was The Horse’s Mouth (1958) Directed by Ronald Neame and Arthur became noted for his creativeness on a variety of different types of film, from the stark realism of 'Tunes of Glory' (1960) directed by Ronald Neame, to the colourful pageantry of Anne of the Thousand Days (1969) directed by Charles Jarrott for which Arthur was nominated for an Oscar.

Amongst his other work is Whistle Down the Wind (1961) directed by Bryan Forbes; I Could Go On Singing (1963) directed by Ronald Neame; A Countess from Hong Kong (1967) directed by Charles Chaplin; Where Eagles Dare (1968) directed by Brian G. Hutton; The Railway Children (1970) directed by Lionel Jeffries; Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (971) directed by Mel Stuart; The Bounty (1984) directed by Roger Donaldson; his last credit was for Babes in Toyland (1986) directed by Clive Donner.

BAFTA 'British Cinematography (Colour) Award' nom [1963] for 'Nine Hours to Rama'; BAFTA 'British Cinematography (Colour) Award' nom [1964] for 'The Chalk Garden'; 'Oscar' AA nom [1969] for 'Anne of the Thousand Days';

'Emmy' Award [1981] for 'Little Lord Fauntleroy';

'Emmy' Award nom [1983] for 'Witness for the Prosecution';

BSC 'Best Cinematography Award' nom [1984] for 'The Bounty'.


Phil Méheux