April 1, 2021

3rd British Society of Cinematographers Awards - 9th April 2021


It’s been quite the year for film and television; active viewing has intensified in a very new way. With cinemas closed and streaming leaping to the forefront, there was still an incredible amount of brilliant and beautiful work we want to celebrate.

Plans have begun for the BSC Awards 2021, one of the most superlative, and now virtual, events in the awards calendar!

The celebratory event will take place on Friday 9th April 2021.

Further details to follow, but please save the date and join the BSC for what promises to be a fantastic evening.

Awards will be presented in the following categories…

  • Best Cinematography in a Theatrical Feature Film
  • Best Cinematography in a Television Drama
  • BSC Bert Easey Technical Award
  • BSC ARRI John Alcott Memorial Award
  • Operators Award for Feature Film
  • Operators Award for Television Drama
  • BSC Special Achievement Award

Also receiving their awards will be the winners of this year’s BSC Short Film Cinematography Awards.



BSC Best Cinematography in a Theatrical Feature Release Award 2020 

Sean Bobbitt BSC for Judas and the Black Messiah

Joshua James Richards for Nomadland

Alwin H. Küchler BSC for The Mauritanian

Erik Messerschmidt ASC for Mank

Dariusz Wolski for News of the World


BSC Best Cinematography in a TV Drama 2020

Adriano Goldman ASC BSC ABC for The Crown - Season 4 Eps 3 - Fairytale

Rob Hardy BSC for DEVS - Season 1 Eps 7

Shabier Kirchner for Small Axe - Season 1 Eps 1 - Mangrove

Suzie Lavelle BSC ISC for Normal People - Season 1 Eps 1

Steven Meizler for The Queen's Gambit - Season 1 Eps 7 - End Game


Operators Award - TV Drama 2020

Chris Bain - The Crown – Season 4 Eps 6 – Terra Nullius

 James Layton/Matt Poynter - His Dark Materials – Season 1 Eps 7 – The Fight to the Death

Dan Nightingale - Dracula – Season 1 Eps 3 – The Dark Compass

Benjamin Semanoff - Ozark – Season 3 - Eps 3 – Kevin Cronin Was Here

Benjamin Treplin - Das Boot – Season 2 - Eps 8 – Auf Der Anderen Seite


Operators Award - Feature 2020

Colin Anderson/Graham Hall - Star Wars:  The Rise of Skywalker

 Christopher Ball - The Lighthouse

Maceo Bishop - Uncut Gems

 Brian S Osmund – Mank

 Peter Robertson - The Gentlemen